Dairy: Good or Bad?

So I’m not sure about you, but I have been hearing and reading a lot of things about the “no dairy diets” and going “dairy-free.” But why? And what does this actually entail? Growing up I always had to drink my milk at dinner and many mornings had cereal with milk. Have things changed since then or was I doing something terrible for my body growing up? So many questions…

I wouldn’t say things have changed since back then, but I would say we are more knowledgeable about dairy products and how they are made. One thing about milk that a lot people might not realize is that it is actually a processed product. Milk is filled with growth hormones and antibiotics used to make the cows lactate unnaturally. Even though this helps milk look white and creamy it is also to blame for skin problems, acne, allergies, inflammation in the body, and much more. Anything that the cow eats or is injected with is going to be in the milk as well. Not sure about you, but I personally don’t know what is going into each and every cow every single day. Little scary to tell you the truth.

One thing I was concerned about was calcium and how I was going to get enough without eating dairy. Well of course there is plenty of other ways besides dairy alone. On average 1 cup of milk has 296mg of calcium. Here are a few other ways to get your calcium intake that you need. Sesame Seeds -1/4cup(351mg), Spinach- 1cup(245mg), Collard Greens-1cup(266mg), Kelp -1cup(136mg), Tahini or Sesame Seed Butter-2tsp(126mg), Broccoli-2cups(124mg), Swiss Chard-1cup(102mg), Kale-1cup(94mg), Brazil Nuts – 12 nuts(90mg), Celery-2cups(81mg), Almonds – 23nuts(75mg), Papaya-1md(73mg), Flax Seeds-2Tbs(52mg), and Oranges-1md(52mg). Seeing there are many other ways to get my calcium I guess this is one reason I don’t necessarily NEED dairy in my diet.

Casein, have you ever heard of it? No? Me either until I began doing some research on this topic. Let me tell you it definitely opened my eyes! Casein is proteins that are commonly found in mammals milk with about 300% more in cow’s milk than in human’s milk. Casein has a variety of uses , from being a major component of cheese, to being used as a food additive, and even used as a binder for safety matches. As for food it has amino acids, carbs, calcium and phosphorus. Now for the kicker, here are the major uses of Casein. Paint, glue, cheesemaking, plastics, fiber, and protein supplements. Paint? Glue? Do I really want something in my body that is also used to make glue?

Going dairy-free may sound difficult depending on your lifestyle, but it’s not impossible. There are many substitutes for some of your favorite dairy products. Baking with milk is very common, but simply using equal parts water and juice will work just fine! There are also things like almond milk, oat milk, rice milk, soy milk, soy cheese, and non-dairy frozen desserts. Things have come a long way in our world today as far as organic and health foods available.

This info isn’t meant to draw you away from dairy products, but it is meant for you to take a good look at your lifestyle. Maybe you have discomfort, headaches, asthma, joint pain, bloating, gas, or an array of other symptoms and just aren’t sure why. Something as easy as less dairy or no dairy could be your fix. It might be something to look into.

So now what do you think…. Dairy: Good or Bad?

~ Your Health Dork ~

8 thoughts on “Dairy: Good or Bad?

    • From what I read there are 4 things to define organic.
      1. No harmful pesticides or fertilizers go into the the feed the cows eat.
      2. No bovine growth hormone(BGH) are allowed to increase milk production.
      3. No antibiotics are allowed. If they do need them they are not allow back into the herd for a year to make sure they are cleared out of their system.
      4. Grazing time and their “access to pasture.” Anywhere from being out in the pasture all day to limited grazing time.

      It looks to me like organic would be a better choice than regular milk. I’d probably read on the label to see what it said, but sometimes they don’t tell us everything on those labels.

      Hope this helps 🙂
      ~ Your Health Dork ~

  1. I’ve jumped on the NO dairy train recently..when you really think about it, it just doesn’t make sense that we drink another animals milk…yuck! and casein has been linked to cancer and many other diseases…Have you watched the movie Forks Over Knives or read the China Study?

    • I completely agree! So you said you recently started it…. have you noticed any changes/differences yet? I have not watched that movie…is it a documentary? And actually just ordered China Study on my audible account and will be listening to that as soon as I get it downloaded onto my phone 🙂 Have heard SO much about that book in just the last couple of weeks.

      Have a great day and thanks for commenting!!

  2. I think dairy can be good and bad. In a diet for young children, animal fats are vital for brain development, and milk can serve as an easy source for this. However, as an adult, I do not think that dairy products are necessary at all. Between the casein’s possible effects and the lactose (which your body naturally becomes less able to digest as you age), I think that adults are better off cutting out or limiting their dairy intake.

    • I see what you are saying about animals need for brain development, but there has to be a better way to get that than from milk. As an adult if we aren’t consuming it because of things like Casein, then I’m not going to be giving it to my child either. There are far more alternatives out there these days. I agree with you as far as limiting too… maybe not necessarily elimiating completely.

      Thanks for your comment!

      • You make a good point about not wanting to give your children something that you wouldn’t want. I believe that the same animal fats can be attained in the diet by eating meat as well, so dairy honestly should not be necessary. I think that it’s just a convenience for a lot of people–they are taught as children that it is the best source for calcium and other nutrients, and they just never think to question it.

      • I agree with your statement on being taught as a child. At that age things stick with us and we never question it. Now being older it’s time to start questioning things we do in our everyday lives. Almost scary to think about it! We’ll continue on this road to a healthy life 🙂

Leave a Reply

